Beacon Structure (4 layer pyramid) in Minecraft

Beacon Structure (4 layer pyramid) in Minecraft

Beacons are widely known as one of the most difficult pieces of architecture to construct in Minecraft. These incredibly useful structures have a number of prerequisites, one of which involves defeating the extremely powerful and destructive Wither boss.The beacon is a block you can make after defeating the Wither and getting a Nether Star. It provides a highly visible beam of light to mark its location, and can also provide you with powers similar to potion effects, which are largely useless because they only act when you are close to the beacon. A player in a Beacon’s vicinity can gain access to a number of positive status effects, including Speed, Jump Boost, Haste, Regeneration, Resistance, or Strength. Beacon Structure (4 layer pyramid) in Minecraft

In order to activate a beacon, it is imperative that players make a pyramid-like structure for it. This structure can be made in four sizes involving four different height values. In layman’s words, the taller the pyramid, the more powerful the beacon’s properties, and status effect radii. The four sizes of a beacon pyramid can be tracked by identifying the size of its base layer. The four base-layer sizes are 3×3, 5×5, 7×7, and 9×9. This article will guide players on how to make a full four-layer 9×9 beacon pyramid for maximum efficiency.

Beacon Structure (4 layer pyramid) in Minecraft

Required Materials

In Minecraft, these are the materials you can use to make a 4 layer pyramid beacon structure:

  • 1 Iron Ingot
  • 1 Gold Ingot
  • 1 Diamond
  • 1 Emerald
  • 164 Blocks of Diamond
  • 164 Blocks of Emerald
  • 164 Blocks of Gold
  • 164 Blocks of Iron
  • 1 Beacon

You need 164 of the mineral blocks and 1 beacon to build the structure. Then you need 1 iron ingot, gold ingot, diamond or emerald to activate the beacon.

Steps to make a Beacon Structure (4 layer pyramid)

  • Place 81 Blocks as the First Layer of the Pyramid

The first layer requires 81 resource blocks. All the blocks need to be placed in a square formation, with each side having an equal number (9) of blocks. If players run out of a single resource block, they may mix and match i.e, more than one resource block can be used to build a beacon layer.

  • Place 49 Blocks as the Second Layer of the Pyramid

The second layer from the bottom will have 49 blocks placed atop the 9×9 layer, with 7 blocks on each side.

  • Place 25 Blocks as the Third Layer of the Pyramid

Place 25 blocks of iron, gold, diamond or emerald in a 5×5 structure to create the third layer of the pyramid.

  • Place 9 Blocks as the Fourth Layer of the Pyramid

Next, place 9 blocks of iron, gold, diamond or emerald in a 3×3 structure to create the fourth layer of the pyramid.

  • Place a Beacon in the Center

Place the beacon at the center of the 3×3 layer. Once a beam of light starts shining towards the sky, the beacon is complete.

  • Open the Beacon Menu

Open the Beacon menu. You should see 5 options (Speed, Haste, Resistance, Jump Boost, or Strength) as the primary power and Regeneration as the option under secondary power

  • Configure the Beacon

Add 1 emerald, diamond, gold ingot or iron ingot into the empty box and then choose a status effect (either Speed, Haste, Resistance, Jump Boost or Strength) for the primary power. We will select Strength.

  • Beacon will give 2 Status Effects

Now all nearby players will be given Strength and Regeneration. These status effects will start at 16 seconds, tick down and then reset back to 16 seconds again. So players that stay within the range of the beacon will receive the Strength and Regeneration status effects continuously.

The primary powers come in five variants. When it comes to secondary powers, the option is to either get passive Regeneration or upgrade all primary powers to their level II strength, making them even more potent when selected. Essentially, players can choose to pick either one primary and secondary power, or even two primary powers.

  • Strength: your damage using swords is increased.
  • Speed: you move faster.
  • Haste: you mine and attack faster.
  • Resistance: damage taken is reduced.
  • Jump Boost: you jump higher and further.


We hope that we have helped you better understand the mechanics of the Beacon Structure (4 layer pyramid) in Minecraft and how to use it in the gameplay. If you ever have doubts then we hope that you refer to this article to clear them. The next time that you play Minecraft don’t forget to try this feature.